Rainbow Pound Cake

Standard

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m pretty sure your looking at this page and wondering why would someone want to try such a colorful-looking thing? Color is my latest crush 🙂 There have been days when I used to only pick up black, white and grays in anything I bought from clothes, bags, shoes to just anything, But there has been this sudden outburst for love of neon and bright colors. As you can see in the pictures, this cake has been inspired by the nail colors 🙂 No! I haven’t used the nail colors, I used food color. 😛

I have been following this cake recipe since many years now which I learnt from my aunt who runs a restaurant in gurgaon called My Saucepan. She has taught me a lot of the baking that I do, and whenever I am in the kitchen experimenting and I get stuck I call her, because she always solves my problems. Thank you so much Masi 🙂
( https://www.facebook.com/mysaucepan )

Rainbow Pound Cake was one of my weekend attempts. I started by thinking that I would use only pink and red to make a marble cake but while doing it I decided to make a rainbow cake, added four more colors and here it is. The problem I faced was that obviously this was a last minute decision so I took a while to take out colors, bowls, divide it and that let my batter stay outside for a little longer than it should have. The taste was not affected but the texture was not as fluffy as it generally is. But that didn’t stop my family to finish the cake in 2 days. 🙂 Here is the recipe, hope you guys try it and mail me the pictures.

Ingredients:

  • Sugar – 200 grams
  • All purpose flour – 200 grams
  • Eggs – 200 grams
  • Butter – 200 grams
  • Baking powder – 1 teaspoon
  • Honey – 1 teaspoon
  • Vanilla essence – 1 tablespoon
  • Milk to smoothen the batter (if needed)

Method:

  • Beat sugar and butter in a bowl until smoothen.
  • Add eggs to the batter one by one.
  • Sieve flour and baking powder, and keeping adding it to the batter.
  • Add honey and beat until the batter is smooth
  • Now, divide the batter into six bowls and add a different color to each bowl. I used pink, red, yellow, green, orange and blue 🙂 🙂 {Please remember not to keep the batter out for too long once the eggs are added, so this whole process should be done fast}
  • Bake in preheated oven at 180C for 20 minutes

You can always add buttercream frosting or cream cheese frosting once the cake is cooled for a bit.

2 responses »

  1. Hi .. rainbow cake looks nice , could u pls tell which colour u have used in this recipe, whenever i try making cake turns out to be little brown n hardly any colour in the bottom even after mixing well , i m using wilton gel color sometime liquid color of oetkar, pls suggest .. regards

    • Hey Pragiti,

      I use white spoon colors. I put the batter in six different bowls mix in the color and very quickly beat it and pour in the pan to bake.

      The brands you are using are also good. So I wonder why this is happening.

Leave a Reply

